Lovely Songs

Happy Valentine’s Day, everyone! I don’t know when the Single Awareness Day phenomenon started, but I’ve grown awfully tired of it. I’ve lived long enough to experience the holiday with serious boyfriends whom I had long-term relationships with and other years as a painfully single individual. Neither is that great, but neither is that bad either.

I’ve been single for the past six or seven Valentine’s Days and I never felt a heightened sense of awareness, if you will. If you’re single, aren’t you already aware that you’re single? If you want a relationship and don’t have one, I’d imagine you’d feel upset about that every day, not just on Valentine’s Day. Being single shouldn’t directly correlate to loneliness and I can’t stand when people automatically hate the holiday and use it as an excuse for complaining and self-loathing. 90% of Valentine’s Day is very obviously spearheaded by Hallmark and it’s a holiday most boys hate anyway. Quite frankly, I don’t like the idea of my hypothetical boyfriend or husband dreading the idea of taking me out and buying me expensive gifts out of obligation; I’d want him to want to. And I prefer surprises anyway – Valentine’s Day is so painfully impersonal and unoriginal.

Valentine’s Day can be fun. I don’t make a big deal out of it or do anything special – probably because I don’t have a special someone to share it with. But I like seeing flowers delivered and girls carrying balloons and teddy bears around. It’s cute and sweet and I’m happy for them. As R. Kelly says, “I love love. I hate hate.”  Simple as that.

I created a quick Spotify playlist of Lovely Songs for your listening pleasure.  These weren’t well thought-out and this was compiled very hurriedly. I essentially added any song I could think of about love or included the word “love,” “heart,” or “romance” in the title.  For any of you self-deprecating folks, I apologize, but this is not a sad, heartbreaking playlist. It’s a feel-good, poppy compilation comprised of everything from pop-punk to R&B. I stayed current by adding Jack White’s new single and also paid homage to the late Whitney Houston, RIP baby.

For those of you who aren’t Spotify subscribers; here’s the track list in case you want to make a last-minute mix tape for your special someone. Have a wonderful Valentine’s Day!

Lovely Songs

  1. Mika – Love Today
  2. The Cure – Friday I’m In Love 
  3. Cut Copy – Need You Know
  4. The Avett Brothers – Kick Drum Heart 
  5. Daft Punk – Digital Love 
  6. R. Kelly – Love Letter 
  7. Best Coast – Boyfriend
  8. Jack White – Love Interruption 
  9. Groove Armada – Paper Romance
  10. Blink 182 – First Date
  11. New Found Glory – Too Good To Be
  12. Fun. feat. Janelle Monae – We are Young 
  13. Ingrid Michaelson – I Can’t Help Falling In Love With You
  14. The Avett Brothers – I and Love and You
  15. Bon Iver – Skinny Love
  16. Eisley – My Lovely
  17. The Rapture – How Deep Is Your Love?
  18. Cut Copy – Hearts On Fire (Holy Ghost! Remix)
  19. Whitney Houston – I Will Always Love You (Hex Hector Radio Mix)
Leave a Reply

