Music Monday: SXSW Catch-up Edition

I don’t know about your whereabouts and whether or not its unseasonably warm where you reside, but I hope you had a nice weekend. Odds are you’re sitting miserably in a cube staring at a painfully boring screen; watching paint peeling off the walls would at least be a change of pace from the mundane Monday 9 to 5.

Frost Bank tower, illuminated by Nike Fuel+ during SXSW

I am officially a full two weeks behind in sharing my glorious SXSW experiences and photos with you, but better late than never. I don’t know how journalists do it – attend the show, snap some photos, get plastered (presumable assumption) and somehow upload, edit and coherently write clever copy with lightning quick turnaround. I guess that’s why they get paid the big bucks. Actually, they don’t get paid shit, so I’m not really jealous of their “press credentials.” (Okay, I am a little jealous)

Cults at SAY Media Interactive Party - Speakeasy, March 12, 2012

Cults’ self-titled album is one of the best feel-good bodies of work released in 2011. You Know What I Mean? “Go Outside” and “Oh My God” never fail to remind me of Saturn commercials, you know the ones where people are completely fine with being stuck in a mid-size sedan together. Happy even. Their music is simple, happy and cute and will soon be my soundtrack as I usher in the summery weather. This band should also get an endorsement from Pantene Pro-V – there’s a lot of hair on that stage.

The Warner Sound captured by Nikon SXSW - La Zona Rosa, March 13, 2012

By the grace of god, my employer granted me (and a guest) VIP access to The Warner Sound (captured by Nikon) SXSW residency, which we took full advantage of on opening night. The line-up was stacked, the place was packed, the beer was abundant and we had one hell of a loud, sweaty Tuesday night.

Headliners, Theophilus London and Santigold, killed the crowd with their upbeat hits and crazy energy. I had previously seen Theophilus twice before, but Santigold was hands-down one of the best performances I saw at SXSW 2012. She performs with showmanship, sass and an entourage of oddly-dressed back-up dancers and band members – even a horse (depicted below).

After those two fun performances, a series of DJs and electronic artists blew the roof off – Flux Pavilion being a personal favorite with hard-hitting beats, trembling bass and stage production rivaling a Lisa Frank Powerpoint presentation. On acid.

Theophilus London, The Warner Sound captured by Nikon - La Zona Rosa, March 13, 2012

Santigold, The Warner Sound captured by Nikon - La Zona Rosa, March 13, 2012

Santigold, The Warner Sound - La Zona Rosa, March 13, 2012

Flux Pavilion, The Warner Sound captured by Nikon - La Zona Rosa March 13, 2012

Cults – Oh My God

Theophilus London – Last Name London

Santigold – Creator

Flux Pavilion – Daydreamer

Leave a Reply

