Friday Five

Hiatus is an understatement in this case, but today I’m reinstating the once weekly updated “Top 5” post, which summed up a week of music, film, books and food. Though this week was a great one, I hope you’re all looking forward to the weekend as much as I am. Happy Friday y’all.

SUNDAY: I flew home to Dallas and surprised my family for Easter and finally met the newest member of my family, 2-month old Benjamin. Benji here is a hefty 15 pounds, but he’s also a remarkably good-natured and happy baby who lets strange, nervous 24-year-old relatives like myself hold and feed him.

MONDAY: I witnessed history on Monday night. By a sheer stroke of luck, I was in the right place at the right time (Twitter, around noon on Saturday) and was one of the few fortunate Austin residents who obtained an At The Drive-In ticket before they completely sold out in less than 10 minutes. Monday night’s performance at Red 7 was the first show the band played in 11 years and the energy and anticipation was completely palpable. Blink-182 did it. At The Drive-In did it. Who’s next? Please say it’s The White Stripes!

TUESDAY: Alabama Shakes is hands down one of the up-and-coming bands of the year and their bluesy, folky, southern rock sound is super raw and simple, but unbelievably good. They remind me of Janis Joplin intertwined with The Black Keys. Their long-awaited album launched on Tuesday and “Hold On” is such a fantastic single. I dare you not to like it.

WEDNESDAY: The Raid: Redemption is one of the most intense, thrilling and action-packed martial arts films I’ve ever seen. I’d argue that it’s the best action film I’ve ever seen. The trailer below provides a glimpse of the level of violence in the film and the extraordinary talent and athleticism these actors/fighters have. The plot was your classic relentless crime lord vs. underdog cop story complete with guns, drugs and man-to-man combat. Mike Shinoda from Linkin Park composed the soundtrack too and his dark and disturbing score equally matched the intensity of the scenes. Stream below!

THURSDAY: Austin Parks Association and The Alamo Drafthouse recently started a delightful springtime series of free Movies in the Park. My friend Molly and I killed an entire bottle of wine while watching one of my favorite films from 2011, “Midnight In Paris” by Woody Allen.

Leave a Reply

