FRIDAY FIVE: CELEBRATION EDITION!

Look! Confident, Employed People in Their 20s: Alert the anthropologists.

After my post last week about my missed opportunity to drive the Oscar Mayer Wienermobile while I was in college, I heard from a young woman, Alison Kwong, a 2009 graduate of the University of Texas at Austin, and a former Hotdogger—the professional title of people behind the wheel of the Wienermobile. She’s about to turn 25 in June and has a successful career in public relations. Her email about her experience was articulately passionate, and she conveyed better than any long-winded graduation speech why you should trust yourself when opportunity rolls up in whatever shape it does:

Read more here 

Lot’s of wonderful things to celebrate this week –

1. Started the week off by celebrating Mother’s Day with my family. I’m not a big fan of my hometown, Arlington, but there are a few gems that reside in suburbia – my friends, my family, The Dallas Cowboys and the Texas Rangers. My favorite spot is this huge record store, Forever Young. I always drop unthinkable amounts of cash at that place, but I love shopping for vinyl and their selection is top notch so it’s worth the investment.

2. My new place of employment! I started a new job this week; this being the first big career change I’ve ever had. Though I love my new co-workers, my new job and my new company, I’m going to miss some elements of my former job. Namely, the coolest supervisor I’ve ever had. Not only was she great to work with – she and I had a lot in common. She introduced me to hundreds of great new bands and burned me an excellent mix as a parting gift.

3. My beautiful friend, Madison (in the black floral dress) is getting married and as a dutiful bridesmaid, I attended her lovely engagement party this week. It’s my first time being in a wedding party and etiquette and protocol are foreign to us both, but seeing her and her fiance happy together is very rewarding. As is meeting her lovely family and friends and drinking copious amounts of delicious red wine.

4. Best friend and roommate, Adam, turned 27 this week! Since I had a few days off between jobs, I decided to redecorate our living room to surprise him. He was obviously stoked.

5. This is a self-serving plug, but a wonderful article was written about me and my good friend, Rachel, about our careers. We’re described as articulate, passionate, confident and successful. Not a shabby way to start off my new career or to end my old one.

It’s Friday and the weekend has officially started. We’re throwing a party for the roommate’s birthday this weekend so we stocked up on my favorite summer beers.

Leave a Reply

