Freedom and Heroism, A Few Good Photos

Independence Day is all about freedom and heroism and standing up for just causes, rights and beliefs. If you don’t believe me, watch Independence Day starring Jeff Goldblum and Will Smith this weekend and I dare you not to agree that defending America from alien annihilation is the epitome of patriotism.

For today’s edition of my weekly wrap-up, I think it’s only appropriate to recognize a few inspirational individuals who made a big impact this week. Heroes in their own beautiful, individual ways.

  • Commercially speaking, The Amazing Spiderman was the obvious superhero of the week. Andrew Garfield did an exceptional job of portraying young, confused, but responsible Peter Parker in the reboot of the epic Marvel series. Not only did he capture the intelligence and  quick wit of Spiderman, but his convincing empathy, kindness and love for Aunt May and Gwen Stacy stole my heart and I want to watch it again. Also, I desperately want to date him.
  • Anderson Cooper and Frank Ocean are heroes in an intangible way, but no less powerful. Both of their “coming out” monologues were so beautifully written and communicated that hopefully a number of ignorant eyes were opened this week. Cooper matter-of-factly shared how his personal life was private for the sake of good journalism, but openly shares that he’s a gay, happy and proud reporter and individual. I particularly love Ocean’s liner notes for his upcoming album (pictured above) describing being in love for the first time. It’s so honest and universally identifiable – I hope we soon realize that love isn’t defined by gender any more than it was defined by race a few decades ago.

I spent the rest of my holiday eating barbecue, drinking beer and celebrating with friends. Nothing extreme or out of the ordinary. I just hope you all had a safe holiday and wish you an even better weekend.

Cheers, Alison

Leave a Reply

