My year in live music

At some point last year, a friend asked me “How many concerts do you think you go to in a year?” and I honestly couldn’t give a fair estimation. It really got me thinking – “How much money do I spend on live music in a year?” “How many bands did I see?” “Did I see any bands multiple times?” “If so, how many?” To provide some insight, I literally kept a Google Doc spreadsheet listing every show I went to this year and updated it regularly throughout the course of the year. Upon auditing my year to date, even I was surprised with my results. I attended a grand total of 48 shows/events and saw a whopping 107 bands/artists. That doesn’t even include the bands I watched more than once. Numbers like that make me really grateful that I live in Austin (where all but one 3-day event) took place.

I decided to make an infographic visualizing my year in live music. A screen grab is pasted below, click-through to see the full visual!

Key findings include:

  • Genre = Electronic and dance music comprised the majority of concerts I attended. Indie shows were a close second.
  • March and October were my busiest live music months, which is to be expected since SXSW and ACL take place during those time periods
  • Danny Brown and A-Trak are tied for artist I saw the most – each with 3 separate performances in 3 separate venues

Picture1

 

Leave a Reply

